clickUP Helpsite

socialprofiles The Blackboard Profile in clickUP (click on your Name in the top right corner) gives you an identity in the learning environment and enables you to learn more about your academic network. Your profile will be displayed in all the Tools where your name will be displayed, e.g. Discussions, Blogs, Roster, etc. Take note: You have to change your Profile Settings. The profile could be set to Private, Visible to your Institution only - RECOMMENDED (i.e. all other students studying at the University of Pretoria) OR public - to all institutions world wide who uses Blackboard. Please read these guidelines. Spaces may support your social learning needs. Please use other social media if you have non learning specific social needs!

pdf clickUP now includes social learning tools

youtube2 Social Learning Tools

This document explains how course roles controls access to the content and tools within a course.  Each user is assigned a role for each course in which they participate.

pdf Roles in clickUP

This is an innovation that improves BB Learn’s navigation experience for all users, but especially sighted keyboard-only users, through page header and landmark aggregation. This document describes how Quick links work and where you will find this new feauture.

pdf Quick links

The Notifications Dashboard contains four basic modules that give information to users based on their enrollment and their role in the system. Users with multiple enrollments will receive information in modules for all their classes and organizations. Users with multiple roles will receive information in modules for all their roles. Users can navigate to individual items to take action.

web About the notifications dashboard

This page shows you how to edit the notification settings, create due date reminders, decide on the duration of the notification, and choose the notification types you will receive.

web Notification dashboard settings

This page provides a very short summary and comparison between the differences of what instructors and students see in the Notification Dashboard.

pdf Notification fact sheet

The Blackboard Profile in clickUP gives you an identity in the learning environment and enables you to learn more about your academic network. Your profile will be displayed in all the Tools where your name will be displayed, e.g. Discussions, Blogs, Roster, etc. Take note: You have to change your Profile Settings. The profile could be set to Private, Visible to your school only (i.e. all other students studying at the University of Pretoria) OR public - to all institutions world wide who uses Blackboard.

web My Blackboard profile

youtube2 My Blackboard profile

This document explains the new formulas available with the Math Editor function available on the Content editor (anywhere where you see a text box where you can add text).

web Math editor

pdf Math editor

An instructor often needs to view a clickUP course as a student to test what students will/ will not see. The Edit Off mode unfortunately only displays how content will be displayed. If you want to see how a test, assignment etc. will display to students, you have to follow the instructions in this document.

pdf Create demo student and login as student

This video explains the global navigation found every in clickUP. It gives you a personalised view of your learning environment, shows you how to access your global navigation tool, navigate the user menu, and navigate My Blackboard.

mov Global Navigation

The export course feature creates a package of the course content that you can import and use to teach another course with the same content. Unlike the archive course feature, the export course feature does not include any user interactions with the course—it only includes the content and the tools. The archive course feature creates a permanent record of a course including all the content and user interactions. Archived courses are saved as ZIP files. Archiving a course does not delete it from the system.

web Export / archive a course

pdf Export / archive a course

 

Date Management is a new tool in Blackboard Learn that allows instructors to have the system automatically "shift" content and tool dates in a course in a highly efficient way.

youtube2 Date management 

***** Date Management in clickUP: Control Panel/Course Tools/ Date Management *****

“After you have copied a course, speed up the transition of old dates to new ones relevant for the new course using Date Management. From Date Management you can adjust availability dates, due dates, and adaptive release dates within a course. You can choose to update the dates automatically or manually from one convenient location. ”

References
Northeastern University. Blackboard Upgrade to Service Pack 14 (SP14). [Published December 2013; Cited 2014 June 27].  Available from: http://www.northeastern.edu/infoservices/?p=11941

 date management

Shows the steps to follow and settings to choose to copy a course from one year to the next.  This process can save a lot of time to get a course ready for the new semester / year.

pdf Copy a course

All course administration is accessed through links in the Control Panel.  This document explains the Superior and the different options available to users.

PLEASE NOTE that only the following roles can access this area: instructor, teaching assistant, grader, course builder and system administrator.

pdf Control Panel

The Courses tab contains a list of the courses you are enrolled in. You are able to hide, re-order and show courses that you have access to under clickUP Courses. You will use this function when you do not want to see the previous years’ courses on your list. BEFORE you hide the course, ensure that it is closed for students!

web clickUP Courses list

Language pack preferences are defined at the system level, the course or organization level, and finally at the user level. At the system level, your University defines one language pack as the system default. This is the language pack that appears when no other language pack is specified at the course level or at the user level. At the course level, you can set a language pack and enforce it. Enforcing a language pack means that all users will view the language pack. For example, one possible reason to enforce a language pack's use is for a course teaching that language. If the language pack is not enforced, and a user has a preferred language pack associated with their account, the user’s language pack will override the course language pack. At the user level, individuals may select their preferred language pack, unless a language pack choice has been set to be enforced.

mov Changing the user language pack

 

Language pack preferences are defined at the system level, the course or organization level, and finally at the user level. At the system level, your University defines one language pack as the system default. This is the language pack that appears when no other language pack is specified at the course level or at the user level. At the course level, you can set a language pack and enforce it. Enforcing a language pack means that all users will view the language pack. For example, one possible reason to enforce a language pack's use is for a course teaching that language. If the language pack is not enforced, and a user has a preferred language pack associated with their account, the user’s language pack will override the course language pack. At the user level, individuals may select their preferred language pack, unless a language pack choice has been set to be enforced.

mov Changing the course language pack

webChanging the course language pack


Copyright 2016. All Rights Reserved.